12″ x 12″ square – not a reference to the shape of my head

So I  ran across this group while goofing around on Ravelry – Squares of Comfort – they are making up blankets for people affected by Hurricane Sandy. They are asking for donations of 12″ x 12″ squares. Simple enough, right? Well, yeah, sure, but I am a doofus and had to ask how to get a 12″ x 12″ square. The whole too big Dogweater A and too small Dogsweater B have got me throughly confused about how to get a certain size of anything! A commenter on the discussion boards recommended the “Grandmother’s Favorite Dishcloth” pattern as it is knit on the diagonal.

It is magic.

four cast on stitches in an olive green yarn

You start here, casting on just four stitches and increase with a yarn over once every row and you get:

6" of diagonally knitted dishcloth in a variegated yarn

IT GROWS! IT’S ALIVE!! MUAH-HAH-HAH!

I was terribly surprised by this – knit knit knit and whaddya know? It just keeps on getting bigger.

Dude.

I didn’t realize how long it would take me to get to 12 inches , though I am there now:

knitted triangle and metal t-square ruler

I thought I would be finished by now! Hah! I started on Friday and worked on it the whole weekend, mostly while watching “Posiedon” and then “The Posiedon  Adventure”.

I have to go do the decreasing side now – so away I go with the K2tog! Buh-bye!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

